Saturday 17 April 2021

Religious Studies

Religious   Symbols-ani[1]

Religious Studies

At Thornhill, the aim of the religious studies curriculum is to help our pupils gain an understanding of the varied beliefs in our school, local, national and global communities. By understanding these beliefs and views and how they can influence believers and affect their lives, we are all better placed to show tolerance and ultimately coexist. The curriculum also allows pupils and encourages them to form their own informed views on many of the big questions in life, as well as a wide range of ethical issues.

Key Stage 3

At key stage 3, pupils study a variety of religions, beliefs and contemporary ethical issues. We start year 7 with our bridging module which acts as the foundation to their further studies, with a strong focus on the core beliefs of world religions and the various ways in which symbolism is used in different religions. Moving on, pupils then answer the question “who is Jesus?” as they study the life and impact of Jesus on Christians as The Son of God and on Muslims as a prophet. Finally, year 7 pupils answer the question, “who are Muslims?” as they study the core beliefs of Muslims and how these beliefs influence the lives of Muslims. In year 8, pupils answer the question, “who are Christians?” as they study the core beliefs of Christianity and how these beliefs influence Christians today. Moving on, pupils begin to learn about the wide variety of religious and non-religious beliefs around the ultimate questions, “is there evidence for God?” and “how did we get here?”. Year 8 pupils end the year by answering the question, “how do religions respond to wealth and poverty?” as they gain an understanding of religious beliefs and responses to poverty and exploitation in the UK and in L.I.C.s. In year 9, pupils begin the year by learning about religious and non-religious beliefs about and responses to justice and reconciliation. Moving on, they then learn about religious and non-religious views on and responses to prejudice and discrimination. Finally, year 9 ends with a study into religious and non-religious beliefs about and responses to war and peace.

Key Stage 4

In year 10 and 11 pupils studying religious studies study AQA GCSE Religious Studies Syllabus A. The course is split into two main parts, each with an examination lasting 1 hour and 45 minutes to be sat at the end of year 11. By the end of year 11 pupils will have studied the following units of study:

Exam 1- Beliefs and Practices

  1. Christianity Beliefs
  2. Christianity Practices
  3. Islam Beliefs
  4. Islam Practices

Exam 2- Thematic Studies (non-textual)

Pupils will study similar and contrasting Christian and Muslim beliefs about and responses to the following contemporary themes:

  1. Religion and Life
  2. Religion, Crime and Punishment
  3. Religion, Peace and Conflict
  4. Religion, Human Rights and Social Justice

The full syllabus in detail can be found at